The purpose of this policy is to identify the circumstances under which registered sex offenders are permitted by law to come within 300 feet of a campus and to identify the technology center’s procedures when such an exemption applies.
By law, a person who has been convicted of a crime that requires the person to register pursuant to the Oklahoma Sex Offenders Registration Act and when the victim was a child under the age of 13 at the time of the offense is prohibited from loitering within 300 feet of any campus of the technology center. The same prohibition applies to a person who has been convicted of an offense in another jurisdiction, which offense, if committed or attempted in Oklahoma, would have been punishable as an offense listed in OKLA. STAT. tit. 57, § 582 and the victim was a child under the age of 13 at the time of the offense. Persons convicted of sex offenses in the State of Oklahoma prior to the effective date of the Oklahoma Sex Offenders Registration Act, which is November 1, 1989, are not subject to this prohibition.
By law, the only exemption to this prohibition occurs when:
- The person is the custodial parent or legal guardian of a minor child enrolled in the school and
- The person is enrolling, delivering or retrieving that minor child at the school during regular school hours or for co-curricular activities.
The technology center intends to enforce the legal prohibition and to strictly construe the exemption. The legal prohibition does not apply to sex offenses committed against children 13 and over.
To enter a campus building to enroll his or her student, the person must first confer with the Director of Student Services or designee. The person must comply with the instructions for the student’s enrollment.
To deliver or retrieve his or her enrolled student from school during regular school hours or for a co-curricular activity, the person must remain in his or her vehicle at all times unless the person has obtained prior written approval from the Director of Student Services or designee to leave the vehicle to deliver or retrieve the student at a designated location.
If the person desires to enter a campus site for a matter concerning his or her enrolled student that is not covered by the legal exemption, he or she must first confer with the Director of Student Services. Some examples might be to review records, to attend a parent-teacher conference or to attend an IEP team meeting for the student. The Director of Student Services will attempt to work with the person to provide the desired information at a non-school site, via telephone or through some other medium.
Any person who violates this policy may be barred from all technology center property. Violators may also be subject to criminal penalties.
Adopted: December 18, 2014;
Revised: February 11, 2020